PDA

View Full Version : First Horse ...eeeek

Kim
15th October 2009, 03:03 PM
Hi,

I need some advice please.....

My 12yr old Daughter started riding about 6 months ago and is progressing well. She has been learning some technical aspects of riding and has got to cantering stage.

I am looking into either buying her a pony/horse or doing a share at the stables where she rides.

She is 5'7 quite tall, but quite slim. I just want to know what sort of horse I should be buying. I have taken a look at lots for sale and am really attracted to a warm blood, but do you think for a first horse a warm blood may be a bit racy? Also how big do you think I should be looking at, as i may go back to riding myself and thought we could share.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

thanks

Kim

Catg
15th October 2009, 03:06 PM
I'm no expert on suggesting horses so I won't go there but I would recommend you share a few first. You'll get a much better idea of what suits you both and then you can buy your dream horse without the hassle and heartbreak of having to sell because it wasn't right.

Cat x

helena
15th October 2009, 03:16 PM
I would say 6 months is too soon after learning to ride to be buying a horse. The reason being in the first couple of years your riding progresses very quickly and the sort of horse you would need at 6 months will likely be a different animal to the one you would want after riding a couple of years.

For this reason I would say either a loan or a share would be the best idea until she is an established rider.

If she is only just learning to canter, a warmblood type would probably be a disaster, they generally need an experienced rider. I had been riding 18 years before I got my first warmblood.