PDA

View Full Version : Riding school ponies

Pie_x
10th February 2012, 09:06 PM
Who was your favourite riding school horse/pony? Or alternatively, what was the first horse you rode that taught you everything there is to know?

Mine was a strawberry roan gelding called Lucky. He was easy in his late teens or twentys when I started riding him. Not the best looking pony, yet in my eyes he could do no wrong or get no cuter! I loved him, was literally obsessed with this pony he meant so much to me. Was a total grump (old age I guess), ears flat back at the girth being tightened or if you were to enter his stable, though it was all an act because soon as you ignored him and got close he was an angel. He looked after me when I began to get competent at riding, though I made some dreadful mistakes he would forgive me. I trusted him totally until I took him in intermediate jumping (erm yes hell of a long time ago!) we're he dragged me round the show jumps, over jumping and seriously strong I just fell off and he stood on my thigh :o but then stopped, poor pony! Lol.

He was my absolute dream, if a girl could ever want a pony it was Lucky. How I wish we could of met in a different life that gave us more time together. Sadly he passed away. I have beautiful photographs of him but not on the computer, off an old fashioned camera and I can't scan the pictures in. I will never forget Lucky chuck egg. We came 2nd to last out of loads in best turned out, but he was such a gentleman, grumpy as he usually was, when I was plaiting him he stood there like a beaut, enjoying every minute. My precious boy! Rip Lucky boy.

Please share your memories and pictures if you have any :). Let's remember the ponies that taught us well.

Burnie
10th February 2012, 09:25 PM
What a good idea for a post! :D