PDA

View Full Version : Rider Insurance

Maria1986
29th November 2009, 05:06 PM
I share a horse and have her for half the week. We have a lit indoor school which is where I normally ride, however now I am starting to build my confidence with her we have been out on a short hack a few times.

I have read about rider insurance but I don't know if it is something I should have. The horse I ride is very good and looks after me but I have only been riding about 9 months so I am still very new to it.

Is it something I should get, is it something I should have always had (bit late now I know) or is it a waste of money?

silverbullet
29th November 2009, 05:18 PM
Nic on here who shares my boys is covered by my insurance policy but I know she also has her own riders insurance which is something from the BHS I think. I'm sure if she sees this she'll fill in the details.

But yes it is something you should have, I wouldn't let anyone share my horses without knowing that they had correct insurance.

Anni~Bell
29th November 2009, 05:31 PM
Would recommend it especially as you share :) Just incase something happened that way both you and yI have riding insurance with the BHS and it costs my mum 45 for the year but I am a junior. That covers everything :)

lilholley
29th November 2009, 09:02 PM
my sharers have always been covered on my horse insurance - it may be worth talking to your share horse's owner?

zoes87
9th December 2009, 12:32 AM
i have seperate rider insurance (although im covered on my horses insurance) and it's 8 a month ... so about 100 a year with petplan. It covers me for absolutely everything whether i'm riding monts or another horse. I would def get rider insurance if you're sharing as i'm not sure about all policies but you may not be covered under the horses.

Maria1986
10th December 2009, 07:48 AM