PDA

View Full Version : Tell me it'll be OK - I'm starting to wonder!

CDR
1st March 2010, 08:19 PM
Bit of background:
- September 09 I bought Bailey

- November 09 he started having trouble with his back, discovered that because he'd put weight on his saddle wasn't fitting properly.

- November 09 the same day his new gullet arrived I discovered a cut on his foot. He was slightly lame and it ended up getting infected and went on anti-biotics.

- December 09 his foot recovered and I managed to ride him once before all the snow and ice arrived.

- January 10 Was able to ride him again. He's generally great in the school but after a couple of weeks he bolted out of it twice one day and I couldn't get him back in without dismounting (then I shut the gate!).

He's always been difficult out hacking and when I started riding him again in January he was worse. The worse it got was he was trying to bolt and buck me off. I crapped myself and led him home! I've rarely got past the end of the lane.

I then put him on competition livery where they ride him 5 days a week to try and sort out the problems. He was very naughty for them too but started to improve after a few days. Then he got way worse again and we discovered that his back is bad again. I'm now waiting for the physio to come out.

He's pulled off numerous shoes even if turned out with overreach boots although none in the last few weeks thank goodness.

He's been separated from the mares as he's been mounting them and getting very possessive and charging at people when they try to bring them in. So he gets about 4 hours turnout a day in a field by himself, any longer than that and he starts to get stressy but he's ok in his stable. I've got him on 'rig stop' to try and calm that and I think it's working a bit but I don't think the yard want to put him back in the big field yet.